Volunteer

This past week has been volunteer appreciation week.  I used to volunteer regularly for years, and now I only sporadically volunteer.  It’s something that I always enjoy when I do it, and I currently have too much going on to make more of a commitment.  That and I no long work weekends, which allowed me to volunteer during the week.

Now that part of my role involves finding volunteers to help, I’m so appreciative of those who do make the time to show up and help in all the big and little ways.  Sometimes stuffing envelopes or filing papers for 30 minutes is so incredibly helpful, even if it doesn’t seem significant.

Since I no longer regularly volunteer at a nonprofit like before, I’ve been thinking about how we all volunteer in different ways.  Sometimes we help connect people to other people; sometimes we offer up listening to someone going through a difficult time.  Sometimes we cook a nourishing meal; sometimes we run an errand or complete a task for another.  Sometimes it’s as small as holding open the door when someone has too many things in their arms; sometimes it’s offering a place to stay.  Sometimes it’s simply by smiling at a stranger – offering some kindness.

In looking for volunteer inspired quotes, this Elizabeth Arden one speaks to me, “Volunteers do not necessarily have the time; they just have the heart.”  So have heart.  You do not necessarily need to formally volunteer to provide service to others.  You volunteer by offering up daily compassion to those around you.

Leave a comment