Listening

Sometimes, we just have to listen.  To pause.  To take a moment out our hectic lives to just shut up (or at least the self-talk that is always happening in the background).

Well, earlier this week, I did.  It was just one of those happy coincidences where everything worked out, which stands out from where I have been lately.

I had been looking into finding a therapeutic massage place (bonus points for the ability to get a 20 minute massage to really help and be affordable) for a week and happened to be in the area after doing some life things. On sort of a semi-planned whim, I went in.  I wasn’t experiencing as much pain that day as I usually am but figured it would probably still be helpful.  Dear (insert deity name here), did I find the right place to be.

Despite being very consciously aware of physical pain, I have not actually been paying as much of attention to myself, my body, and my needs as I thought I was.  And there it was, all in the muscles, nerves, skin.  My story found instantly by another’s fingers.

This was a gift.  To receive help – particularly when you didn’t exactly realize you needed something but you wound up right where you needed to be.

This would have been good enough—great, really—but I got another reminder from the Universe.  As I left the massage studio, church bells were tolling loudly as I continued to walk for a few minutes.

What a sign.  It couldn’t have (literally) been any louder.  The Universe couldn’t have made it any more obvious (unless, of course, there was a crowd of strangers clapping as I exited, but that probably would’ve just been weird) that I did something good for myself today – an intentional act of kindness for myself that was really missing from my life.

So, I decided to take the Universe’s sign and make the day of it.  It was a beautiful sunny day and I walked home.  Instead of working on my to-do list, I decided things could wait, and just took care of myself.  I texted with a friend.  I ate a nourishing lunch.  I took a nap.  I relaxed and watched tv (ok, there’s probably better things to do but sometimes, checking out and watching tv is the right thing to do at that moment).  I even read a little later that day.

And so, what I gathered from that day was to be kinder to myself.  And to go ahead and start this blog that I’ve been thinking about for a while as a way to ensure that I do.  So I will put this question out there to you:

When was the last time that you did something intentionally kind for yourself?

Hopefully, you are just about to.

Leave a Reply

