Spotlight on Kathryn Evans

One of the reasons I wanted to start this blog was to highlight inspiration.  I’m always inspired by what other people are doing, how they are living, and what they are putting out there.  So for my first spotlight piece, I want to show off my dear friend and writer, Kathryn Evans.

Kat profile

I met Kathryn at college and we pretty much instantly bonded during our MFA job.  We both were in creative writing classes together, and even after graduation, Kathryn has nudged me to continue writing.  She has been the gentle force providing me with the reminder I needed to hear.  Again.  And again.  Until it finally sunk in and I started this blog.  But enough about me – this woman has inspired me countless times in many ways.  One of the biggest inspirations she’s given me is that writing is enough.  She has worked hard and sacrificed and took a big risk to quit her job to write.  She is a published author (A Waking Dream) whose belief in stories inspires me to keep trying, keep writing, and to stay passionate about what you believe in.

May she inspire you, too.

L: How did you become a writer?

K: I think that I was probably about 13 or 14 years old when I realized that I wanted to be a writer. I was obsessed with reading fantasy novels at that point in my life, but I found myself creating alternate plot points and characters that I would imagine into the books that I was reading. I realize now that I what I was doing was creating Fan Fiction, but I never actually wrote any of it down. Pretty quickly after that, I started to make up stories and characters and whole worlds of my own, and those I started to write down. And with the encouragement of my parents and friends, I’ve just never really stopped writing since then. I went to college and got my degree in English/Creative Writing, and joke about how unemployable this makes me. After college, I struggled for a long time on what to do next and how to realize my desire to be a “writer.” I never wanted to write things because other people were telling me to, so journalism and things like that were immediately out. Also, I’m a big fan of instant gratification, so playing the waiting games that come with trying to get traditionally published were also just not appealing. It’s only been in the last two years that I have really dedicated myself to being an independent, self-published author. I love the freedom and the control of doing things my own way.

L: What are you working on right now?

K: Right now I am working on a short story titled “Conversations with Peacocks.” It’s starts off with our main character at a Speed Dating event, and from there it goes on to look at what life is like for a modern twenty-something woman in our society, trying to navigate modern romance, friendships, and what it is that she actually wants out of life. I’m planning to release the story on Kindle in the next month or so.

L: What’s something we should all know about you?

K: I am a geek, and a nerd, and probably a dork sometimes, too. I’m pretty passionate about the things that I enjoy, whether they are movies or tv shows or grammar humor or cute animals, and I don’t think that enthusiasm for the things we love is something that we should ever be ashamed of or embarrassed about.

L: What’s something most people don’t know about you (that you’d like to share publicly)?

K: I really love astronomy. I love looking at the sky at night and learning new constellations, and learning about other planets and the universe in general. I think it has something to with the fact that I grew up watching Sci Fi shows like Star Trek. Also, I’ve had my own small telescope since I was a teenager, though I haven’t gotten it out in a while.

L: What inspires you?

K: Other people’s stories. Whether it is a movie, tv show, play, book, historical event, a drunk guy at a party, a five-year-old explaining their make-believe game, or your grandpa telling about his life. I just really love stories. I believe they are what make us human.

L: What has been your most recent act of kindness that either you gave or received?

K: I was waiting in line at one of my favorite coffee shops and there were these two girls, one was in line directly in front of me and one got in line directly behind me, and they were clearly friends and were kind of talking across me a little bit. The one behind me wanted to just give the other one some cash to get her a coffee and a bottle of water, but as soon as she suggested it I could see that she immediately felt bad because it was essentially cutting in front of me in line. I assured her that it was fine, they were together anyway and I wasn’t in rush, and then we all started talking. They were visiting from out of town, and I gave them some recommendations about where to go for dinner that night and brunch the next day. When we all finally got up to the counter, after they paid for their coffee and waters, the girl who had originally been behind me in line gave me some cash to buy my coffee It was completely unexpected, and such a wonderful treat, especially because I had already talking with them so much.

L: April is National Poetry month, would you write us a short poem (it could even be a haiku)?

Lindsy asked for words
Poetry is not my thing
Coffee has run out

Want to continue to see what Kat is up to?  You can follow her blog and check her out on social media:

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/GillyFlowerWritings/

Twitter – https://twitter.com/gillyflowerkat

Instagram – https://www.instagram.com/gillyflowerkat/

 

 

Leave a Reply

