Smell

I’m a visual learner, and I’d say that of the five senses, the sense I most rely on without thinking is sight.

Well, this weekend, I decided to light a candle that someone gave me, and it was the kind that really fills the room.  It was wonderful.  And I started paying a little more attention to my sense of smell, and I was mostly delighted.  I forgot at how much this sense can calm and comfort us – more than just laying around to relax can do sometimes.

So here’s my Sunday smell list:

  • Sweat
  • Green Tea
  • Eggs
  • Kimchi
  • Banana
  • Raspberry
  • Apple
  • Incense
  • Bleach
  • Pine
  • Dust
  • Sweet tea with a hint of sour
  • Week-old shrimp shells
  • Bacon grease
  • Cinnamon
  • Gardenia
  • More incense
  • Crisp winter breezes
  • Week-old water
  • Sauteed garlic, onion, bell peppers
  • Andouille sausage and chicken
  • Cajun seasoning
  • Lavendar
  • Coconut

What does this list tell?  That mostly I’m surrounded by good smells – as defined by me.  It also is indicative of my day.  I really enjoy food, and cook from scratch.  I’m brewing kombucha and generally drink tea daily.  I changed the water to all my hydroponic plants, and watered the rest of them.  I did some serious cleaning – hence the bleach, an open window, and more fragrant smells.

I recently put all of my candles together on a little table in my living room, but it wasn’t until this weekend that I really realized this was a way to create the relaxing atmosphere I really need.  Lighting that one candle helped remind me to enjoy more by tapping into all of my senses.  Now I just need to remember to take some small steps to better enjoy the time.

img_20170305_115902241.jpg

How do the smells in the spaces you occupy impact you?

Leave a Reply

