Energize

There are some days that I have an unreasonable amount of energy.  I wonder if this is in part due to no longer commuting by foot.  So I’m finding myself pouring energy into the endless to-do’s, the holiday prep, but also in the daily duties that I enjoy.

By which I mean cooking.  I really love to cook (and to eat).  I try to cook healthy, or at least on the healthier spectrum in general.  I try to cook real food and from scratch, even though that sometimes means most of my time after work is spent cooking and eating, with the following day cleaning up all the dishes.

Earlier this week, I just couldn’t stop cooking.  So I made all the food that I meant to on the weekend, but after a full workday.

IMG_20171208_175204

A whole chicken, sweet potatoes, carrots, onions, garlic, broccoli, and mashed turnips.

Now when I have an unreasonable amount of energy, I can further craft my cooking into carrot-chicken soup with a bone broth.  Or rest my feet while I read.  Or plot what I still need to prepare for the holidays so I can be done next week.

How do you energize?

Leave a comment